a half-square triangle mistake?

I had some left over white squares from my last quilt so I made another half-square triangle quilt, only it didn’t work out the way I had planned. I used scraps (of course!) and originally thought I’d point all of the arrows in different directions. However, when I lay them on the floor to work out the exact pattern, I didn’t like how they looked pointing every which way.  So I made the blocks all point the same way, except for the reversed patterned blocks. I forgot to account for the seam allowances in how the blocks fit together. As a result, I think this quilt is really, really boring and I’m not all that thrilled with it. It’s like a scrappy chevron. Considering how much cutting and trimming there is in half-square triangles, I was hoping for something I liked more. It’s my first quilt that I’m not madly in love with.  It was bound to happen at some point, right?
half-square triangle quilt
Even some of my corners aren’t all that lined up!
half-square triangle quilt
The far away view kind of works, I suppose. Maybe it will grow on me?
half-square triangle quilt
I used IKEA’s numbers fabric for the back.
half-square triangle quilt
I used a scrappy binding – of course!
half-square triangle quilt
This is Project Linus quilt #9. I am really happy that I challenged myself to making 10 quilts for Project Linus this year, but it’s safe to say that I’m getting a little burned out. I’m definitely getting burned out on these scraps – how is it that the pile doesn’t seem to ever dwindle? :-)

2 thoughts on “a half-square triangle mistake?

Leave a Reply

