scrappy string quilt

I’m still working through some scraps.  My mom kindly let me pick through some of hers and after I organized everything I had, I realized I had some very distinct sizes of strips.  I think this is my first true improv quilt, if I define “improv” as no precise cutting or sewing.  While I had strips that were approximately the same length, they weren’t at all even nor were they the same height.  I interspersed the scrap strips with 2″ strips of the white.  I then trimmed them so they were even width’ed blocks and them cut them into smaller strips.  I reversed some of them when I sewed them together.

scrappy string quilt

scrappy string quilt

I used a hot pink polkadot for the back.  It’s polyester – is that bad?  I bought it thinking I’d make it into a dress but between my growing frustrations over sewing clothing and the see-through nature of the fabric, I thought it would make a better backing.  For the quilting, I just did a bunch of intersecting straight lines.

 

scrappy string quilt

scrappy string quilt

I like working with scraps because I like revisiting my earlier projects (and my mom’s projects!) and remembering what I learned when I made my first quilt, my first skirt, napkins for my parents, etc., and it makes me happy to see them all together in one quilt.

One thought on “scrappy string quilt

Leave a Reply

