Scrappy Trip Around the World – done!

About two years ago, my Instagram feed exploded with quilters making scrappy trip around the world quilts.  Seriously, I think every quilter on the planet was making them.  And honestly, I wanted to make one too.  This was the first time I ever felt the need to jump on a quilting bandwagon, and the need was strong.  It’s a cool quilt and is really easy to put together.  Why did it take me almost two years to finish it?  Well, it’s a “scrappy” quilt so I had to wait until I had enough scraps to make it!  I’m so glad I took my time with this one and I am super glad that I used all scraps from previous projects.  I can look at the fabric in every block and remember the original project, kind of like a memory quilt.

This is the largest quilt I’ve made and it’s the first one I’ve made since I started quilting that I’m keeping for myself.  I love it and I love looking at it and thinking about all that I’ve made and all that I’ve learned since I started quilting.

scrappy trip around the world quilt

scrappy trip around the world quilt

The quilting is a simple straight line grid which I did on every other row.  The quilting was a beast!  There was too much quilt to wrestle with in my sewing room so I ended up putting my kitchen table in the middle of my living room and quilting it there.

scrappy trip around the world quilt

scrappy trip around the world quilt

The back is random bird fabric that I got from IKEA a few years ago and never used.  It fit the entire quilt perfectly, with no cutting or weird geometry needed.  Have I mentioned how much I love using IKEA fabric for the backs of my quilt?

scrappy trip around the world quilt

scrappy trip around the world quilt

I am so in love with this quilt!  I almost – not really! – wish the weather would stay cool so I could use it.  But summer in New England can be super short (unfortunately), so I’m sure I’ll be using the quilt daily soon enough.

scrappy trip around the world quilt

My next multi-year scrappy quilt is now in progress :-)

Leave a Reply

