half square triangle quilt

half-square triangle quilt love

About three years ago, I cut up a bunch of squares and made a bunch of half-square triangles. I promptly lost my sewing inspiration and put them in a drawer and forgot about them.  I’ve been working like mad to get my condo ready to put on the market, so what did I do?  Naturally, I took them out of the drawer to start to work on again.  Let’s face it, sewing is way more fun than painting and scrubbing the tiles in the shower.

I ended up putting the squares together randomly.  When I was done, the quilt was too small on it’s own so I decided to add a border of the leftover solid black fabric.  Unfortunately, I had only a limited amount of black fabric left so I put a border on just two sides.  I really wasn’t sure I liked it while it was lying on my sewing floor.  It wasn’t until I quilted and bound it that I felt in love with the two-sided border.
half square triangle quiltThe fabric is some fat quarters I bought here and there and the rest were left over from projects, including a scrap from one of my mom’s project. I love how the purple and red pop with the black!

half square triangle quiltI bound the quilt with some yellow fabric I had left over from an “in progress” project and I honestly think it’s only of the best sewing choices I’ve made since I started sewing!  The yellow pops and makes the purple and red pop.  I love the yellow so much!  My only regret is that I should have sewed the binding to the back with black thread instead of white.

half square triangle quiltThe back isn’t nearly as exciting.  I used a remnant yard that I got a long time ago and some left over fabric from my “in progress” project.  And yes, that little bit of fabric in the corner is from a dress I made a few years ago and never got to fit correctly.
half square triangle quiltI absolutely love how this quilt came out. I know I say this a lot, but this one really stole my heart.  I’ve done a lot of selfish quilt making this year, so this one’s going to Project Linus.
half square triangle quiltEnough sewing procrastination – back to painting!

One thought on “half-square triangle quilt love

Leave a Reply

