dapper square quilt

happy quilts

The concept of “quilting as therapy” really speaks to me.  When life gets chaotic, I turn to quilting and channel my problems into my fabric.  I’ve also started to notice that the more complex my worries get, the brighter the quilts I want to make.  I went through two decades of wearing exclusively black so I find it kind of funny that now I just want to make bright happy quilts with bright happy fabric :-)  I made this dapper square quilt partly because I wanted to work out a couple of issues in my head and partly because I am kind of embarrassed at how much fabric I seem to be collecting.  I love how it came out!  The pattern was really easy to follow and I just kept cutting fabric until I had the right amount for the blocks and then put them all together – I didn’t really plan the layout at all.

IMG_0073

The pattern was really simple so I worked on my ironing skills and my piecing skills.  I think I need an ironing lesson – I feel like my seams are never even.
IMG_0080

I’m not sure if the colors “go” together but it makes me unreasonably happy to see all these bright fabrics sitting next to each others.
IMG_0075

The back is some yardage that I had originally intended to use to make a skirt but I gave up making clothes due to fit issues and decided I didn’t like the fabric all that much so I used it for the back and then used up some of the larger scraps that I had.  I am happy how the quilting came out!
IMG_0077

This quilt is quite a bit larger than the quilts I’ve been making lately and I’m so glad I went back to the larger size.  It’s for Project Linus and I know they can use the larger quilts.
dapper square quilt

Leave a Reply

