Houndstooth Quilt

Houndstooth Quilt

For the past couple of months, I had it in my head that I wanted to make a houndstooth-patterned quilt.  I’m not quite sure the reason for the obsession as I am not at all preppy and it’s not a pattern I would ever wear as a garment but I liked the idea of trying to turn the familiar into a quilt.  After spending an eternity sketching the pattern and trying to figure out the math, I found an awesome tutorial from the Missouri Star Company which clarified the technique.

The tutorial used only two colors but I had the idea that I wanted it to be scrappier, alternating a patterned block with solid yellow.  I cut out 5″ square blocks for the yellow blocks and if you follow the tutorial, using strips from fat quarters, you’ll end up with the right amount of blocks in the right colors, as long as you only sew two strips (in my case, a yellow and a fat quarter strip) together at a time and then cut them into triangles.  That will allow you manipulate the placement of the striped squares so they match the 5″ blocks.

Houndstooth Quilt

The quilt came out better than I ever could have imagined! There was a steep learning curve as I began cutting but once I really figured out the pattern and the seam allowances, it came together really easily. Once you sew together the two sets of striped triangles, it’s just sewing together 5″ squares. Easy, right? ;-)

Houndstooth Quilt

 

I’m still on a “use it up” kick so I used some larger scraps I had in my stash. I am sorry to report that this is the last of those yellow chickens :-(

Houndstooth Quilt

This quilt is for Project Linus.

One thought on “Houndstooth Quilt

Leave a Reply

