Simply Fun by Maywood Studio

Simply Fun quilt

When I turned in my last few quilts to Project Linus, I picked up a fun-looking project for the next round of Project Linus Quilts, Simply Fun by Maywood Studio.  The pattern directions weren’t what I expected so I altered the pattern a bit to make 12 separate blocks, instead a more row-by-row design.  I tend to think better in blocks, don’t you?  I went with pink and yellow to make it extra girly :-)

http://cdn.maywoodstudio.com/media/stash-item/file/s/i/simply_fun_update.pdf

The finished/trimmed blocks are 15.5″ square so it made a decent size quilt.  I hadn’t planned to do anything but shadow the suggested pattern colors but in pink and yellow but realized that the quilt would be a bit more interesting if I alternated the pink and yellow so there was some variety in the inner and outer triangle colors.  I also reversed a couple of blocks to use the “white” as a color.  I think these changes made what is a pretty simple quilt, a little more interesting.

http://cdn.maywoodstudio.com/media/stash-item/file/s/i/simply_fun_update.pdf

I finally found a use for that pink camouflage fat quarter I’ve been holding on to (see bottom left block)!  I did end up making a couple of blocks slightly scrappy so as to fully use up a couple of fabrics.

camouflage

I used some random fabric for the back – isn’t that striped fabric great (no crazy piecing!)?

I’m glad I adjusted the pattern to make it into blocks – this turned out to be a fun, quick and easy quilt to make and I’m really happy how it came out.  Sometimes you just need something quick!

This quilt is for Project Linus .

Leave a Reply

