scrappy quilt in blue

scrappy quilt – blue

Since my pink/red/black scrap quilt was so fun, I decided to make another in blue/green/yellow.  I barely planned this out and realized only a few blocks in that I didn’t have as many blues and greens in the right shades.  Why knew there were so many shades of blue and green?!  I threw in a bit of yellow and some other random scraps so make it work.  To be honest, as individual blocks, this quilt didn’t work at all so I was really nervous to put the blocks together.  Fortunately, my eye and brain were wrong and it worked out!

I used the same technique as the last quilt – I just sewed scraps together until I had blocks that were slightly larger than 6″ and then trimmed them to size.  These are very fun to make and I plan to make more when I have more scraps!

scrappy quilt in blue

scrappy quilt in blue

scrappy quilt in blue

For the back, I went with my old favorite “use whatever is left from the quilt top and add in whatever larger scraps until I have the right size”.  I should patent that technique, right?  :-)

scrappy quilt in blue

I know I say this with almost all of my finished quilts, but I really love how this one came out!

Leave a comment